wiki:WorkingWithProjects

Working With Projects

Standard Project Operations

Creating a Project

  1. Login with a User account

If you do not have a user account read more about how to create one in Working With Accounts.

  1. Select File -> New -> Project
  1. Fill out the form and click Save

The new project is automatically made the active project, and its name is shown in the project menu. The project properties form is updated with some new fields (currently item ID, owner, and status) showing their values for the created project. The form also has a "Members" tab that can be used to give different access rights to the project for other users.

Selecting an Existing Project

  1. Select View -> My Projects to make the Projects table appear (a Projects table is also shown on your Home page).
  1. If the project you want is not shown on the first page of the Projects table due to too many projects coming before it in the list, use the navigation links at the bottom of the table to find the page showing the desired project.
  1. Click on the project name to make it the active project. Any previous active project will automatically be deactivated.

An alternative way to select a project is to use the menu File -> Select project, that lists the first projects. This way is normally faster, provided the project you want is on the menu. The active project is marked with a bullet in the menu.

Deactivating an Active Project

An active project is automatically deactivated when a new active project is selected. If for some reason you want to deactivate an active project, without selecting a new one, use one of the following methods:

  1. Use the project menu to select <Active Project> -> Close
  1. Select File -> Select project -> - no active project -

Advanced Project Operations

Close a Project

Some projects are by its nature more time limited than other, but there might be reasons why you don't want to delete the project with all its data after it is finished, e.g. some of its items may be used by other projects, or you may want to keep the project for future reference. However, you might prefer not to have such projects in limbo status being shown in the Projects table and Select project menu, in order to reduce the size of the list for simpler selection of the projects you normally work with. In this case, you can close a finished project, which stops it from appearing in the Projects table on the Home page and Select project menu. If you want to use the project again, it can be reopened, as it is still shown in the Projects table obtained by View -> My Projects.

How to Close a Project:

  1. Select the project using View -> My Projects to make the Projects table appear, and then click on the project name, or select it using File -> Select project.
  1. Use the project menu to select <Active Project> -> Properties.
  1. In the project properties form, change "Status" from "Open" to "Closed".
  1. Click Save.

Note: The project menu <Active Project> -> Close item only deactivates the active project, without selecting a new one. This is a completely different operation than the one discussed here, which closes the project for normal access.

The closed project is now absent from the Projects table on the Home page and from the File -> Select project menu. However, it is still shown in the Projects table obtained by View -> My Projects, which allows a way to reopen the project again.

How to Reopen a Closed Project:

  1. Select the project using View -> My Projects to make the Projects table appear, and then click on the project name.
  1. Use the project menu to select <Active Project> -> Properties.
  1. In the project properties form, change "Status" from "Closed" to "Open".
  1. Click Save.

Delete a Project

Deleting a project removes it and all its data, and should therefore only be done when you are sure you don't need it any longer. A typical case is a test project that only was created for testing some new feature without risk.

How to Delete a Project:

  1. Select View -> My Projects to make the Projects table appear.
  1. Select the project by clicking on its check box.
  1. Click Delete. A confirmation pop-up dialog appears with the warning "Features and hits will be deleted. Jobs, files, directories and search results will be moved to the trash. Do you want to continue?".
  1. To delete the project, click the "Yes" button on the confirmation pop-up dialog to create a project delete job. If you have second thoughts and don't want to delete the project and its data, click the close icon in the upper right corner of the pop-up dialog to close it.

Caution! The project properties form also contains a "Delete" button, but clicking it will create a project delete job without first displaying a confirmation dialog.

Last modified 11 years ago Last modified on Mar 10, 2011, 12:25:48 PM